Bavarian State Collection for Botany

Botanische Staatssammlung München (BSM)

Botanische Staatssammlung München

Homepage: www.botanischestaatssammlung.de

Governance

Director: Prof. Dr. Gudrun Kadereit

Deputy Director: Dr. Dagmar Triebel

Research

The Botanical State Collection Munich (BSM) researches the diversity of plants and fungi. It also provides online access on collection material data and develops suitable online information systems for this purpose, with a particular focus on sustainability of data flows and solutions. With 54 published datasets since 2007, the Bavarian Natural History Collections (SNSB) is a successful data publisher in the GBIF network. Listing 3.7 million georeferenced data, including 1 million data on collection objects (often with digitized data), the SNSB is now third among the 33 german data providers.

An ongoing research project deals with the collections of P. F. von Siebold (1796-1866), the pioneer of botanical exploration in Japan, which are housed at the BSM. The aim is to find and digitize type material for the species described by Siebold together with the BSM curator J. G. Zuccarini (1797-1848). The family of spurge plants (Euphorbiacaee), which is distributed worldwide, is also being taxonomically processed.

Another research focus of the Seed Plant Department is the biology and evolution of carnivorous plants, especially the Droseraceae. A particularly spectacular new species described recently is Drosera magnifica which was first discovered in a photo on the internet. The research focus of the Department of Lichens and Mosses is the symbiotic coexistence of fungi with algae of the family Trebouxiaceae. Molecular data have shown that the algae have taken up genes from “their” fungi and stably integrated them into their own genome. For these studies, the Munich State Botanical Collection has established sophisticated techniques to isolate and culture the algae living in the lichens.

Research and infrastructure projects in the field of biodiversity informatics are carried out at the SNSB IT Center, a department of the Botanical State Collection. For this purpose, open-source software for research is being developed. Among other projects, data on the flora of Bavaria is being made accessible. These range from data collections from the grid and biotope mapping since 1946 to data from the digitization of handwritten old herbarium labels aswell as to “hand-knitted” data inventories of individual collectors. The project is supported by WWF Germany and the Bavarian State Office for the Environment, among others.

Contact

Menzinger Str. 67
D-80638 Munich
Tel: +49 (0)89 17861 265
Fax: +49 (0)89 17861 193
Email: office.bsm@snsb.de

Botanische Staatssammlung München

Botanische Staatssammlung München

Website: www.botanischestaatssammlung.de

Leitung

Direktorin: Prof. Dr. Gudrun Kadereit

Stellvertretende Direktorin: Dr. Dagmar Triebel

Forschung

Die Botanische Staatssammlung München (BSM) erforscht die Diversität der Pflanzen und Pilze. Außerdem stellt sie Daten zu Sammlungsmaterial online bereit und entwickelt dazu geeignete Online-Informationssysteme, mit einem besonderen Fokus auf Nachhaltigkeit der Datenflüsse und Lösungen. Die SNSB sind mit 54 veröffentlichten Datenbeständen seit 2007 erfolgreicher Data Publisher im GBIF Netzwerk, und mit 3,7 Millionen georeferenzierten Daten, darunter 1 Millionen Daten zu Sammlungsobjekten (oft mit Digitalisaten), sind die SNSB nun an dritter Stelle unter den 33 Datenlieferanten aus Deutschland.

Ein laufendes Forschungsprojekt befasst sich mit den in der BSM liegenden Sammlungen von P. F. von Siebold (1796-1866), dem Pionier der botanischen Erforschung Japans. Hier gilt es Typusmaterial für die von Siebold zusammen mit dem BSM Kurator J. G. Zuccarini (1797-1848) beschriebenen Arten zu finden und zu digitalisieren. Auch die weltweit verbreitete Familie der Wolfsmilchgewächse (Euphorbiacaee) wird taxonomisch bearbeitet.

Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt der Abteilung Samenpflanzen ist die Biologie und Evolution fleischfressender Pflanzen, speziell der Droseraceae. Eine besonders spektakuläre neue Art, die in jüngster Zeit beschrieben wurde, ist Drosera magnifica die zuerst auf einem Foto im Internet entdeckt wurde. Forschungsschwerpunkt der Abteilung Flechten und Moose ist das symbiontische Zusammenleben von Pilzen mit Algen der Familie Trebouxiaceae. Molekulare Daten haben gezeigt, dass die Algen Gene aus „ihren“ Pilzen aufgenommen und stabil in ihr eigenes Genom integriert haben. Für diese Studien hat die Botanische Staatssammlung München anspruchsvolle Techniken zur Isolation und Kultur der in den Flechten lebenden Algen etabliert.

Am SNSB IT Center, einer Abteilung der Botanischen Staatssammlung, werden Forschungs- und Infrastrukturprojekte aus dem Bereich Biodiversitätsinformatik durchgeführt. Dazu wird open-source Software für die Forschung entwickelt. Neben anderen Projekten werden Daten zur Flora von Bayern erschlossen. Diese reichen von Datensammlungen aus den Raster- und Biotopkartierungen seit 1946 über Daten aus der Digitalisierung handschriftlicher alter Herbaretiketten bis zu „handgestrickten“ Datenbeständen einzelner Sammler. Das Projekt wird u.a. vom WWF Deutschland und dem Bayerischen Landesamt für Umwelt gefördert.

Kontakt

Menzinger Straße 67
80638 München
Tel: 089 17861 265
Fax: 089 17861 193
Email: office.bsm@snsb.de