Botanical Garden München-Nymphenburg

Botanischer Garten München-Nymphenburg (BGM)

Logo Botanischer Garten München-Nymphenburg

Homepage: www.botmuc.de

Governance

Director: Prof. Dr. Grudrun Kadereit

Research

In the Botanical Garden München-Nymphenburg (BGM), with an area of 21.2 hectares, around 19.600 species and subspecies are cultivated. Together with the Alpine Garden at Schachen (at an altitude of 1.860 m), the Botanical Garden is involved in national and international research projects providing important material and observation data. The Botanical Garden München-Nymphenburg collects, studies, cultivates and exhibits wild and cultivated plants from all over the world and thus from different climatic regions according to scientific criteria. Its collection of living plants also serves research purposes.

At the Botanical Garden’s extensive orchid collection, the chemistry of orchid scents is explored. For the technically complex analyses, the Botanical Garden collaborates with chemists who can use the orchids for their investigations thanks to the expertise available at the garden in the cultivation of orchids: scents can only be obtained from living flowers. This is a good example of the importance of botanical gardens for basic research in chemical ecology.

Another focus are studies of chromosomes of the papaya family (Caricaceae) and the arum family (Araceae) using state-of-the-art molecular cytogenetic methods. Research questions concern the role of chromosome loss and sex chromosomes.

A third focus are ongoing experiments on the perception of temperature and daylight by buds in spring and related to this the effect of climate warming on leaf emergence and frost damage in spring.

Contact

Menzinger Str. 61-65
D-80638 Munich
Tel.: +49 (0)89 17 861-321 (central information)
Tel.: +49 (0)89 17 861-350 (cashdesk)
Tel.: +49 (0)89 17 861-310 (general administration)
Fax: +49 (0)89 17 861-340
Email: botgart@snsb.de

Botanischer Garten München-Nymphenburg

Logo Botanischer Garten München-Nymphenburg

Website: https://www.botmuc.de/

Leitung

Direktorin: Prof. Dr. Grudrun Kadereit

Forschung

Im Botanischen Garten München-Nymphenburg, mit einer Fläche von 21,2 Hektar, werden rund 19.600 Arten und Unterarten kultiviert. Zusammen mit der Außenstation, dem Alpengarten am Schachen (1.860 m), ist der Botanische Garten in nationale und internationale Forschungsprojekte eingebunden, denen er wichtiges Material und Beobachtungsdaten liefert. Er hat die Aufgabe, Wild- und Kulturpflanzen aus der ganzen Welt und damit aus verschiedenen Klimagebieten nach wissenschaftlichen Kriterien zu sammeln, zu untersuchen, zu kultivieren und auszustellen. Seine Sammlung lebender Pflanzen dient auch der Forschung, wofür die Nachfrage aus der ganzen Welt stetig steigt.

An der umfangreichen Orchideensammlung des Botanischen Gartens wird die Chemie der Düfte von Orchideen erforscht. Für die technisch aufwändigen Analysen arbeitet der Botanische Garten mit Chemikern zusammen, die ihrerseits nur durch die am Garten vorhandene Expertise in der Kultur von Orchideen deren Blüten für Untersuchungen nutzen können. Düfte können nur an lebenden Blüten gewonnen werden! Es ist dies ein gutes Beispiel für die Bedeutung botanischer Gärten für Grundlagenforschung im Bereich chemische Ökologie.

Ein anderer Schwerpunkt sind Untersuchungen an Chromosomen der Papaya-Familie (Caricaceae) und der Aronstabgewächse (Araceen), wobei modernste molekular-zytogenetische Methoden eingesetzt werden. Forschungsfragen betreffen die Rolle von Chromosomenverlusten und von Sex-Chromosomen.

Ein dritter Schwerpunkt sind seit einigen Jahren laufende Experimente zur Wahrnehmung von Temperatur und Tageslicht durch Knospen im Frühling. Im Hintergrund stehen dabei Fragen nach der Auswirkung von Klimaerwärmung auf Blattaustrieb und Frostschäden im Frühling.

Kontakt

Menzinger Straße 61-65
80638 München
Tel.: 089 17 861-321 (Info), -350 (Kasse), -310 (Verwaltung)
Fax: 089 17 861-340
E-mail: botgart@snsb.de