Bavarian State Collection for Zoology

Zoologische Staatssammlung München (ZSM)

Logo Zoologische Staatssammlung München

Homepage: www.zsm.mwn.de

Governance

Director: Prof. Dr. Gerhard Haszprunar

Deputy director: Dr. Andreas Segerer

Research

Research at the Bavarian State Collection for Zoology (ZSM) can be described as leading in Germany and internationally respected. At the center of the scientific questions is the comprehensive understanding of animal diversity, the discipline relevant to this is called zoosystematics: how are the units (animal species) best defined and identified? How did this diversity arise in space (biogeography) and time (phylogenesis), and how do new species actually arise? And last but not least, what are the current dynamics of diversity in terms of loss (species extinction) and gain (neozoa)? In this context, the huge zoological collections are both the result of research (evidence) and the starting point for new questions and investigations.

Methodologically, the ZSM represents an “integrative systematics and taxonomy”, a wide variety of information (morphology, physiology, ecology, cytogenetic and molecular data) is included in the analyses. This requires, in part, sophisticated imaging techniques (e.g., electron microscopy, 3D morphology, µCT, and digital X-ray) and genetic analyses using molecular biology methods. At the same time, the scientists integrate taxonomic-systematic findings into general questions of evolutionary research, phylogeography and nature and species conservation.

DNA-Barcoding-Projects at the ZSM

In total, almost 50% of all Bavarian animal species (approx. 35.000) have been recorded so far within the framework of the Barcoding Fauna Bavarica project. Catalogs for many subgroups such as butterflies, beetles, grasshoppers, vertebrates, etc. are already in use. Worldwide, the ZSM is the second largest data provider for the International Barcode of Life Project (iBOL) after the “headquarters” in Guelph (Canada).

The third phase of the German Barcode of Life (GBOL) project has been running since 2020 and aims to discover previously unknown species, so-called “dark taxa,” in our native fauna. It uses an integrative taxonomic approach based on DNA barcodes, i.e. genetic identification sequences (DNA barcodes). The taxonomic target groups include the diptera and parasitoid hymenoptera.

Further information on DNA-Barcoding of the ZSM: http://barcoding-zsm.de

Contact

Münchhausenstr. 21
D-81247 Munich
Tel.: +49 (0)89 8107 0
Fax: +49 (0)89 8107 300
Email: zsm@snsb.de

Zoologische Staatssammlung München

Logo Zoologische Staatssammlung München

Website: www.zsm.mwn.de

Leitung

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Gerhard Haszprunar

Stellvertretender Direktor: Dr. Andreas Segerer

Forschung

Die Forschung an der ZSM kann als in Deutschland führend und international be- und geachtet bezeichnet werden. Im Zentrum der wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen steht das umfassende Verständnis tierischer Diversität, die dazu relevante Disziplin nennt sich Zoosystematik: wie sind die Einheiten (Tierarten) am besten zu definieren und zu identifizieren? Wie ist diese Vielfalt in Raum (Biogeographie) und Zeit (Phylogenese) entstanden, und wie entstehen eigentlich neue Arten? Und last but not least: Wie sieht die aktuelle Dynamik der Diversität in Bezug auf Verlust (Artensterben) und Zugewinn (Neozoen) aus? Dabei sind die riesigen zoologischen Sammlungen sowohl Ergebnis der Forschungsarbeiten (Belege) als auch Ausgangspunkt für neue Fragestellungen und Untersuchungen.

Methodisch vertritt die ZSM eine „Integrative Systematik und Taxonomie“, wobei verschiedenste Informationen (Morphologie, Physiologie, Ökologie, zytogenetische und molekulare Daten) in die Analysen einbezogen werden. Dafür sind z.T. anspruchsvolle Bildgebungsverfahren (z.B. Elektronenmikroskopie, 3D-Morphologie, µCT und digitales Röntgen) bioakustische Datenund genetische Analysen mit molekularbiologischen Methoden notwendig. Zugleich integrieren die Wissenschaftler taxonomisch-systematische Erkenntnisse in allgemeine Fragen der Evolutionsforschung, Phylogeographie und des Natur- und Artenschutzes.

DNA-Barcoding-Projekte der ZSM: 

Insgesamt wurden im Rahmen des „Barcoding Fauna Bavarica“ Projekts schon über 50% aller bayerischen Tierarten (ca. 35.000) erfasst. Kataloge für viele Teilgruppen wie Schmetterlinge, Käfer, Heuschrecken, Wirbeltiere, etc. werden bereits in der Praxis eingesetzt. Weltweit gesehen ist die ZSM nach der „Zentrale“ in Guelph (Kanada) zweitgrößter Datenprovider beim International Barcode of Life Projekt (iBOL).

Die dritte Phase des Projekts „German Barcode of Life“ (GBOL) läuft seit 2020 und zielt ab auf die Entdeckung bisher unbekannter Arten, sogenannter “Dark Taxa”, in unserer heimischen Fauna. Dabei kommt ein integrativ-taxonomischer Ansatz auf Grundlage von DNA-Barcodes, d.h. genetischer Kennsequenzen (DNA-Barcodes) zum Einsatz. Zu den taxonomischen Zielgruppen gehören die Zweiflügler (Diptera) und parasitoide Hautflügler (Hymenoptera).

DNA-Barcoding an der ZSM: http://barcoding-zsm.de

Kontakt

Münchhausenstr. 21
81247 München
Tel.: 089 8107 0
Fax: 089 8107 300
E-mail: zsm@snsb.de