SNSB IT Center

Logo SNSB IT-Zentrum

Website: www.snsb.info

Head

Dr. Dagmar Triebel

Management of bio- and geodiversity data

The Information Technology Center of the Staatliche Naturwissenschaftliche Sammlungen Bayerns is the institutional repository for scientific data of the natural history collections and museums belonging to the SNSB. Its major tasks focus on the management of bio- and geodiversity data using different kinds of information technological structures. The facility guarantees a sustainable curation, storage, archiving and provision of such data.

The mission comprizes research activities in the field of biodiversity informatics and the implementation of generic information technology like easy-to-use working environments for handling scientific data. The software is mainly designed and set up following the concepts of the Diversity Workbench developer platform. DWB software tools are registered in bio.tools, a service of ELIXIR Europe.

The SNSB IT Center supports scientists and institutions by offering services to manage the whole data life cycle starting with data entry up to persistent storage and provision as well as delivery of approved and quality-controlled data to national and international portals. Most of the data is managed by DWB network and installations.

Partner for biodiversity informatics

Based on about 20 years IT experience the SNSB IT Center was established in 2006. It is associated to the Botanische Staatssammlung München using its administrative and logistic infrastructure as well as its scientific and curatorial experience.

The in-house technical staff is administrating a server cluster using LINUX and MS Windows platforms with around 60 TByte storage units. The back up systems and archives of the regional computing center Leibniz-Rechenzentrum München are essential part of the storage concepts.

The SNSB IT Center is participating on several national and international initiatives within the field of biodiversity informatics, e. g. acting as a GBIF data publisher and GFBio data center, running a BiNHum search portal for SNSB collections (prototype) and providing a number of services and products, e.g. in connection with the Nationale Forschungsdateninfrastruktur (NFDI). It hosts data for universitary and non-universitary research partner organisations.

At the EU level the SNSB IT Center contributes significantly to the information science and technology concept development of the CETAF consortium, the design set up of the Distributed System of Scientific Collections (DiSSCo) and its German part DiSSCo-D. DiSSCo is a priority project on the Roadmap 2018 of the European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESFRI) and will provide unified access to European Natural Science Collections. The SNSB are chairing training activities of the EU COST Action CA17106 – Mobilising Data, Policies and Experts in Scientific Collections (MOBILISE).

The SNSB IT Center offers the direct assignment of Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) for research datasets published via GFBio services and data pipelines, using DataCite services.

Contact

SNSB IT Center
Botanische Staatssammlung München
Menzinger Straße 67
80638 München
Tel: 089 17861 252
Fax: 089 17861193
Emails: it-center@snsb.de

Numbers, data and facts

Diversity Workbench

 represents a virtual research environment for multiple scientific purposes with regard to management and analysis of life and environmental sciences data.

25 millionen

 identificable data records are managed in internal data networks

120

database installations are technically administrated by the SNSB IT Center

 

Diversity Workbench

350

 active user accounts

200

users within the SNSB

7 SNSB collections and museums

use DWB client software: state collections for botany, zoology, mineralogy, paleontology, paleoanatomy as well as the Jura-Museum and the Museum Mensch und Natur

Global Biodiversity Information Facility – GBIF

more than

15 millionen indentificable data records

of life and environmental sciences data in GBIF.

The SNSB are

one of the largest data providers

in Germany.

SNSB IT-Zentrum

Logo SNSB IT-Zentrum

Website: www.snsb.info

Leitung

Dr. Dagmar Triebel

Management von Bio- und Geodiversitätsdaten

Das SNSB IT-Zentrum ist das Datenzentrum für die wissenschaftlichen Daten der naturkundlichen Sammlungen und Museen der SNSB. Seine Hauptaufgaben liegen im Management von Bio- und Geodiversitätsdaten unter Nutzung verschiedener IT Strukturen. Die Einrichtung gewährleistet eine nachhaltige Kuratierung, Speicherung, Archivierung und Bereitstellung solcher Daten.

Die Mitarbeiter:innen des IT-Zentrums forschen im Bereich der Biodiversitätsinformatik und entwickeln Technologien wie einfach zu bedienende Arbeitsumgebungen für den Umgang mit wissenschaftlichen Daten, so die anerkannte Fach-Software Diversity Workbench. Die DWB-Software Tools sind in bio.tools, einem Dienst von ELIXIR Europe, registriert.

Das IT-Zentrum der SNSB unterstützt Wissenschaftler:innen und Institutionen mit Dienstleistungen zur Verwaltung ihrer Daten: von der Dateneingabe bis hin zur dauerhaften Speicherung und Bereitstellung sowie der Bereitstellung von verifizierten Daten auf nationalen und internationalen Portalen. Der größte Teil der Daten wird über das DWB-Netzwerk und DWB-Installationen verwaltet.

Kompetenter Partner für Biodiversitätsinformatik

Basierend auf rund 20 Jahren IT-Erfahrung wurde das SNSB IT Zentrum 2006 gegründet. Es ist an die Botanische Staatssammlung München angegliedert und nutzt deren administrative und logistische Infrastruktur sowie deren wissenschaftliche und kuratorische Erfahrung.

Das Team des SNSB IT-Zentrums verwaltet ein Server-Cluster auf LINUX- und MS-Windows-Plattformen mit rund 60 TByte Storage Units. Wesentlicher Bestandteil des Speicherkonzepts sind die Back-up-Systeme und Archive des Leibniz-Rechenzentrums (LRZ) in München.

Das SNSB-IT-Zentrum ist an mehreren nationalen und internationalen Initiativen im Bereich der Biodiversitätsinformatik beteiligt, z. B. als GBIF-Datenherausgeber und GFBio-Datenzentrum, betreibt ein BiNHum-Suchportal für SNSB-Sammlungen (Prototyp) und bietet eine Reihe von Dienstleistungen und Produkten an, z. B. in Verbindung mit der Nationalen Forschungsdateninfrastruktur (NFDI). Desweiteren hostet das IT-Zentrum Daten für universitäre und nicht-universitäre Forschungspartnerorganisationen.

Auf EU-Ebene ist das SNSB IT-Zentrum an der Entwicklung informationswissenschaftlicher und -technischer Konzepte des CETAF-Konsortiums, der Konzeption des Distributed System of Scientific Collections (DiSSCo) und dessen deutschen Part DiSSCo-D beteiligt. DiSSCo ist ein vorrangige Initiative auf der Roadmap 2018 des Europäischen Strategieforums für Forschungsinfrastrukturen (ESFRI) und wird einen einheitlichen Zugang zu europäischen naturwissenschaftlichen Sammlungen bieten. Die SNSB leitet eine Arbeitsgruppe der EU COST Action CA17106 – Mobilising Data, Policies and Experts in Scientific Collections (MOBILISE).

Das SNSB IT-Zentrum bietet die direkte Vergabe von Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) für Forschungsdatensätze an, die über GFBio- und NFDI-Dienste Datenpipelines veröffentlicht werden. Hierfür nutzt es die Dienste von DataCite.

Kontakt

SNSB IT-Zentrum
Botanische Staatssammlung München
Menzinger Straße 67
80638 München
Tel: 089 17861 252
Fax: 089 17861193
Emails: it-center@snsb.de

Zahlen und Fakten

Diversity Workbench

wurde entwickelt zur Speicherung und Verarbeitung
von Bio- und Geodiversitätsdaten,
nutzererprobt seit über 20 Jahren.
Ist inzwischen angewachsen auf

25 Millionen Daten

über Sammlungsobjekte, Einzelbeobachtungen und Beschreibungen
von Tieren, Pflanzen, Pilzen, Fossilien, Gesteinen und Mineralien in

120

Datenbanken.

 

Diversity Workbench

350

aktive Anwender deutschlandweit, davon

200

bei den SNSB.

Daten von

7 SNSB Einrichtungen:

Staatssammlungen der Botanik, Zoologie, Mineralogie, Paläontologie, Paläoanatomie sowie Jura-Museum und Museum Mensch und Natur

Global Biodiversity Information Facility – GBIF

Mehr als

15 Millionen Datensätze

mit Sammlungs- und Beobachtungsdaten
über das GBIF Portal abrufbar.

Die SNSB sind

einer der größten Datenlieferanten

in Deutschland.